Awards & Publications

Megan K Crowley Award for Patient Advocacy

The Megan K. Crowley Award recognizes outstanding contributions in the areas of Rare Disease atient Advocacy at the Boler-Parseghian Center. Such contributions may include, but are notlimited to: 1) Raising awareness of Rare Diseases at the University of Notre Dame with regional, national and international organizations 2) Developing products/tools/technologies that help rare disease patients and their families with communications and disease management.

CONGRATULATIONS to Annika Knuth, ND'23.  She was the 2023 recipient of the Megan K Crowley Award for Patient Advocacy.  The award was presented by Mr Matthew Boler.  

2023 Patient Advocacy Award Recipient
 Annika Knuth and Matt Boler







2021-2022 Monica Mesecar  ND '22 

2021-2022 Megan McCabe ND'22

 2019-2020 Danielle Terek ND 20

John M. and Mary Jo Boler Rare Disease Research Award

The John M. and Mary J Boler Rare Disease Research Award, recognizes outstanding original scholarship and research in rare and neglected diseases at the Boler- Parseghian Center at the University of Notre Dame. Such contributions may include clinical or laboratory-based (basic or translational) research in rare and neglected diseases. Up to two Awards may be presented.

RACHEL WHITEHEAD was the 2023 recipient of the John M and Mary Jo Boler Rare Disease Research Award.  Congratulations Rachel!


2023 Rare Disease Research Award
Rachel Whitehead and Matt Boler







Past Recipients:

  • 2021-2022 Louise Medina-Bengsston 
  • 2019-2020 Elena Kolarevic SMC '21


Award nominations should be accompanied by:

  1. the student’s curriculum vitae;
  2. a one-page statement from the student summarizing the nominated work;
  3. a letter from the nominator that clearly explains significance of the work in the context of patient advocacy. 
  4. URL of Web pages/ other demonstrated evidence and supplementary information concerning the work. Nominations will be judged on the quality and impact of the student’s work.

Please also provide the following information:

  • The nominee’s mailing (and e-mail) address and phone number;
  • The nominator’s name, e-mail address and phone number;

Nominations to be submitted by  January 2, 2020 to